Is it Spring Yet?

Maison d'Objet, Paris

Maison d'Objet, Paris

Spring can’t come fast enough for me! I am looking forward to it and the new design trends it brings with it. I have kept my eyes open for color trends in the gardening catalogs I receive almost every day (I love gardening and can’t wait to make my new house “me” with all my gardening ideas) and have taken trend cues from the home furnishings and textile shows I had the opportunity to see: Heimtextil (Frankfurt, Germany) and Maison d’Objet (Paris, France). After seeing all the new ideas and products soon-to-be-released, I have decided that this Spring, real color is on the way!

Some of the color combinations I have seen include bright, bold punches of lime and granny smith apple green. I have also seen the mixture of fuchsia and orange. Both make wonderful color combinations. I have seen them in apparel fashion and in the home. Another exciting trend I have seen is cobalt blue and sunny yellow, both statement colors, mixed together they create excitement!

In addition to these colors, I think we will still see last year’s neutral color greige (a mix of taupe and gray), blacks, browns, as well as true gray tints. These neutral colors can be mixed with some bold statement colors for an exciting new look for today. I use the bold color in home accessories and items you can mix in and out easily; when you are tired of these heavily saturated colors you can easily remove them and change your color palette instantaneously! Look to use these colors in pillows, bed sheets, artwork, and dishes as well as any decorative item.

Heimtextil, Frankfurt

Heimtextil, Frankfurt

Look for these colors in fashion too. I was drawn into the Jimmy Choo store in Paris- here were high-heel peep toe pumps in those bright, saturated, Spring colors of lemon yellow, tangerine, and cobalt- just to name a few. Just like those shoes would kick up your favorite black dress or even a pair of jeans, those colors will also add pizzazz in your home!

Seeing all this color, in home and fashion, leads me to one question: is it Spring yet?!?!

Leave a Reply

