And the crowd roared…

"I vow to not paint my walls beige..."

On November 4th, 2010 I had the opportunity to educate the audience on the “10 Steps to the Perfect Room” in Victoria BC. The audience was 90 plus men and women and the charity was the Women’s Transition House Charity. You could tell how comfortable the crowd was with me. If they had a question they piped right up and asked it. Pens wrote feverishly as we counted down the “10 Steps”. We had a great fun comparing products and had a great discussion on the virtues of using a Pirouette. It is one of my favorite products. 

Refreshments were served and I was so excited that they served a Canadian favorite dessert of mine, Nanaimo Bars. It is a heavenly layered bar that is so good to eat but so bad on my hips. I have made these divinely morsels many times at home for special occasions so I thought why should only Canada savor these treats. I have included the recipe for you to try.  Do you have a favorite bar recipe that you would like to share?  My only requirements are that it is easy to make and you don’t include the calorie count!  Please don’t ruin it for me!!!  If you make the Nanaimo bars please let me know how you like them! 

That night we raised $4,240.00 which will go to a great cause and in these economic times will be well used.  Everyone had a great time, ok maybe the whole crowd didn’t roar but they clapped as they showed their appreciation to Nigel Brown, Debra Ruffell and myself for a seminar well done.  I roared when I ate my Nanaimo Bar.  It was soooooooooo good!!!!  Thanks Nigel and Debra!!!

Nanaimo Bar Recipe

Bottom Layer
½ cup unsalted butter (European style cultured)
¼ cup sugar
5 tbsp. cocoa
1 egg beaten
1 ¼ cups graham wafer crumbs
½ c. finely chopped almonds
1 cup coconut

Melt first 3 ingredients in top of double boiler. Add egg and stir to cook and thicken. Remove from heat. Stir in crumbs, coconut, and nuts. Press firmly into an ungreased 8″ x 8″ pan.

Second Layer
½ cup unsalted butter
2 Tbsp. and 2 Tsp. cream
2 Tbsp. vanilla custard powder
2 cups icing sugar

Cream butter, cream, custard powder, and icing sugar together well. Beat until light. Spread over bottom layer.

Third Layer
4 squares semi-sweet chocolate (1 oz. each)
2 Tbsp. unsalted butter

Melt chocolate and butter over low heat. Cool. Once cool, but still liquid, pour over second layer and chill in refrigerator.

2 Responses to “And the crowd roared…”

  1. Suzanne Dube Says:

    What a fantastic way to raise money and have fun. Victoria Women’s Transition House Society is a most worthy cause and will use these funds well to help women in our community. Congratulations on a great fund raising event!


Leave a Reply

